Search Our Site

The Policyholders Compensation Fund (PCF) is a State Corporation under the The National Treasury that was established through the Legal Notice No.105 of 2004 and commenced its operations in January 2005.

The Fund was established for the primary purpose of providing compensation to claimants of an insurer that has been put under Statutory Management and for the secondary purpose of increasing the general public’s confidence in the insurance sector. The decision to establish the Fund was informed by the collapse of several Insurance companies prior to the year 2005. The Fund is governed by section 179 of the Insurance Act (Cap 487) and the Insurance (Policyholders Compensation Fund) (Amendment) Regulations, 2014.

The Policyholders Compensation Fund is mandated to:

a). provide compensation to the policyholders of an Insurance company under Statutory Management;

b). monitor, in consultation with the Commissioner where necessary, the risk profile of any insurer;

c). advice the Minister on the national policy to be followed with regard to matters relating to compensation of policyholders and to implement all government policies relating thereto;

d). participate in the statutory management of an insurer placed under statutory management by the regulator:

e). liquidate an insurer as may be ordered by a court; and

f). perform such other functions as may be conferred on it by this Act or by any other written law.